Car accidents are common in Alabama, and they often result in property damage, bodily injury, and even death. Given the frequency of car accidents, all drivers in Alabama should know what to do following such an event. Below are the steps you should take after an Alabama car accident.
1) Seek medical attention – The first thing you should do following a car accident is seek medical attention, even if you don’t think you’ve been injured. Some injuries are not readily apparent, making it imperative that you confer with a medical professional following a car accident—even if you don’t think you’ve been hurt.
2) Remain at the scene – Unless you require immediate medical attention, you must remain at the scene of the accident. Pursuant to Alabama law, a driver involved in an accident resulting in injury, death, or property damage is required to give his or her name, contact information, and registration number to the other person or persons involved in the accident. Leaving the scene of an accident can result in a criminal hit and run charge.
3) Call the police – If you are involved in an accident resulting in injury, death, or property damage, you must call the police immediately after the crash. Calling the police can actually benefit you in a later civil case, as the authorities will create an accident report that you may be able to use in pursing your claim.
4) Take pictures – Photographs provide valuable evidence of the accident scene, your injuries, and any property damage sustained in the accident. Therefore, if possible, try to take photographs as soon as possible following an accident.
5) Keep quiet – Even if you believe you may have been at fault for your accident, never accept blame or apologize to others involved in the incident. Such statements may be used against you in a civil claim for damages. In addition, since Alabama is a pure contributory negligence state, the victim of an accident may not recover any damages if he or she was even 1% at fault for an accident.
6) Report your accident – If the police are not called immediately following an accident, you are required to report injury, death, or property damage over $250 to the Alabama Department of Public Safety within 30 days of the event.
Birmingham Personal Injury Attorneys
At Stansberry Law, we understand that being injured in a car accident can be an overwhelming experience. The pain, suffering, expenses, and lost wages associated with an auto injury can often feel like an insurmountable burden. Luckily, our experienced Birmingham personal injury attorneys can help ease this burden by offering you compassionate, knowledgeable, and aggressive legal representation in your auto accident case. If you’ve been injured in an auto accident, please contact our office as soon as possible for a free consultation with one of our experienced attorneys.
Posted in: Personal Injury